The Connection

6 Jan

I am an over-analyzer. Plain and simple, I take situations, feelings, contemplations large and small and break them down. I make lists about pro’s and con’s. I create alternate solutions, I turn the grey area of situations into a full spectrum of shades of grey and I have no idea why.

This is one of my charming character traits, kind of like being the girl who always has chapstick or an extra bobby pin – I can always be counted on to talk through and analyze anything. I suppose I use “charming” in its loosest sense. 

One would think anyone who is this intense about over-analyzing would have expressing their feelings down to an art form. Well maybe some people do, I do not. Not even close.

 I don’t know when it started but I have this strong connection with song lyrics. I’ve been known to make full playlists to attempt to explain why I feel a certain way. I’m not going to be all emo right now and burn you a mix CD – don’t get your hopes up. 

When I find a new song I like on the first listen the next step is always searching out the lyrics. For you the blog reader’s enjoyment here is a portion of one of my favorite current songs:

Come Home, by OneRepublic 

There’s someone I’ve been missing

I think that they could be

The better half of me

They’re in their own place trying to make it right

But I’m tired of justifying

So i say  to you..

 

Come home

Come home

Cause I’ve been waiting for you

For so long

For so long

And right now there’s a war between the vanities

But all i see is you and me

The fight for you is all I’ve ever known

So come home

 

Well maybe I’m just dreaming out loud

Until then…

 

Come home 

 

Everything I can’t be

Is everything you should be

And that’s why I need you here

Everything I can’t be

Is everything you should be

And that’s why I need you here

So hear this now

 

Come home

Leave a Reply

