Weekend Whirlwind

20 Jan

It’s Sunday night and all I can think is “Damn, I wish I had tomorrow off.” Not just because BJD is going under the knife (see previous post about Bubba) but also because I’ve barely slept, I’m like chronically dehydrated and I just want to chill out and catch up on my shows.The later part of last week flew by, between my 4 hour happy hour date with The Plastics (yeah, 4 hours…judge us), a cold night of Flag Football and late happy hour eats (no booze this time) and work, Friday night was suddenly upon me and it was all downhill from there.

Friday Night: The V party at a certain downtown night spot that may or may not have been the site of most of my drunken debauchery in 2007…and there was A LOT of debauchery. So of course it was only fitting that my date to this event be one of my two partners in crime, The Sox Fan. I think I can speak for both of us when I say being there at 8pm is weird. But besides that, the people who are there on dates is equally if not MORE bizarre. Any man that tries to take me on a dinner date there will be written off immediately, but I digress.

When we arrived the party was underway and The Sox Fan was able to finally put names to faces with my co-workers. Yes, we were the only two people drinking Jack Daniels there, and yes they opened a new bottle when we went in for Round 1. Many a co-worker or co-worker date mentioned how funny they thought The Sox Fan was, so if there was a Funniest Duo Award for the night I would have to say with 95% certainty that we would have that on lock down. *I left the extra margin for polling margin discrepancies.

Friday Night = Success.

Saturday: After a night out on the town it should always seem like a good idea to get up, face the day, pack a bag and head up to a mountain lodge for a wedding. Wait, what? Well that was what I had on tap. Drinking + Stress + How LOUD my apartment is (and I’m not talking about fire alarms being pulled and late night cigarette convos on the balcony – I’m talking about structural creaks and rain on metal outside my window)…well let’s just say there was little sleep being had.

After a small chocolate milk chugging (best way to cure any post drinking stomach acidity) I was meeting up with my girls and piling in the car for conversations that start with “I don’t mean to be gossipy…BUT…” as we climbed up Mt. Hood.We arrived safely and without having to stop to put chains on (wahoo!) we unloaded ourselves from the car we checked into our chalet room at the lodge. Basically Timberline’s room versions of European hostel housing. We made our way around the lodge to get our sense of direction established and I plotted the best places to take my Shining reenactment photos.

We were all there to attend the wedding of our pledge class sorority sister (yes, it’s wedding time for our class) and I had a great time. Between the hysterical pre-wedding crying to the slide tackling for the wedding bouquet toss, to the C-walking on the dance floor to the bar top dancing at the after party I think it’s safe to say the whole lodge knows we had a good time. *Honestly, none of the aforementioned events involved me directly. I know that shocks a number of you.

Suddenly it was Sunday AM and we were headed back to town, just in time for me to get back to my freezing cold apartment, get some laundry done and watch football championship games…do I really have to go to work tomorrow?!?

2 Responses to “Weekend Whirlwind”

  1. The Sox Fan January 21, 2008 at 3:47 pm #

    I’m curious as to the state of the Bottle when we left that night. Seeing as how it was just us killin that bottle.

  2. JDub January 21, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    I would say we were at least below the 50% mark…most likely around 25% but then again we weren’t really there all that long.

Leave a Reply

