Savvy 6 Part 2

20 Feb

*If this is your first time with the Savvy 6 no worries, you can still be considered an early adopter to this blog segment seeing as how this is only installment #2. Basically it’s my iTunes on shuffle and I tell stories to 6 songs.

“Overprotected” – Britney Spears
Weird. Well I guess since I own all of Britney’s albums it was only a matter of time before she showed up on the Savvy 6. This is one of my favorite’s because of the fun, rebelious vibe, “I’m so fed up with people telling me to be someone else but me.” Ironic, isn’t it. Maybe if Britney was a little less overprotected she wouldn’t be having a mental breakdown in the middle of LA for the entire world to see…just sayin.

“Rockin in the Free World” – Pearl Jam; Live at the Gorge July 22, 2006
Was I at this concert. Yes. Every rock music fan should have the opportunity to see one of their favorite artists at a venue like The Gorge. It’s in the middle of no where, it’s b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l, and if one of your favorite bands is Pearl Jam just know they love playing there and their shows there are like they are never going to play together again. They are so intense about it their opening act is themselves, a little bit acoustic and a little less 15 minute guitar solo but they are awesome and I love the Live at the Gorge series because it takes me right back to those fantastic summers with my BF Eddie rockin’ out.

“Desperately” – Michelle Branch
WTF is Michelle Branch haunting me? This is off the same album as the previous Savvy 6 post. But I do like this song because I think she basically pegs all of my romantic situations with the following “I keep giving in, but I should know better, ‘Cause there was something ’bout the way you looked at me”. Perhaps Michelle Branch is my doppelganger….

“Beautiful Day” – U2
First Pearl Jam and now U2 – in the same Savvy 6?!? Fantastic. One of my life goals is to see U2 Live in Ireland. I think it would be a perfect excuse to travel to Ireland and I could only imagine their shows there are brilliant. This song just always makes me happy – that and it makes me want to dance around my apartment – like Charlie’s Angels Cameron Diaz dancing. Yikes. But it just makes me pumped up and ready to tackle anything. Nicely done Bono.

“In Another Life” – Ashlee Simpson
Bet you thought I would be too embarrased to let the worldwide web know I owned Ashlee Simpson’s album…too bad. I know she lip syncs, I know she has a crazy witch chin, I don’t care. I like the fact that her songs are mindless pop rock – this is perfect gym playlist material BTW. “Everywhere you go is everywhere I’ve been, You finish all my sentences before they begin” – you know that great feeling in a relationship when the other person is just so damn compatible to you and makes the perfect compliment to your life – like they just fit? That’s what this song is to me. But then again it could have been sung by anyone – lucky you Ashlee Simpson, lucky you.

“It’s Only Rock and Roll (But I Like It)” – Rolling Stones
I credit my classic rock genes to my dad. He’s a good guy and he likes to listen to his classic rock CD’s loudly in my mom’s car – and I love that. This one is just such a feel good classic rock piece and is most likely in heavy rotation in jukeboxes and karaoke machines in dive bars nationwide. I would like to clarify that I do not and have not ever had a crush on Mick Jagger. Gross.

So there you have it – hopefully this was a little more satisfying than my previous alternative rock playlist who I heard from some people was too generic. This Savvy 6 Part 2 appears to offer more range – I mean really, what person appreciates Britney Spears, Pearl Jam and the Rolling Stones in one setting. I do. Hence why I rock.

Leave a Reply

