Damaged and Lip Gloss

25 Mar

I will admit it. I watched every episode of Making the Band 4. I had to know what was going on with the girls, the guys, the hookups, the drama of that many people in one house. I felt this strange urge to know whether Dawn and Q were going to make it and whether Diddy was going to lose it on Aubrey O’Day. I don’t really know why. I didn’t buy Danity Kane’s first album, I didn’t watch Making the Band 3 at all.  But there I was – recording episodes and giving re-caps/analyzations of the their antics with my friends.

During the course of watching the show, which follows both the guy group – Day 26, the girl group – Danity Kane, and the solo artist – Donnie, that make up Diddy’s proteges I was able to hear tidbits of songs off their new albums and suddenly I was smitten with “Damaged” by Danity Kane. I love it. Little known fact – well maybe not little known but I do tend to keep it a secret I suppose – I like pop music – I like the catchy beats and mostly I like music that allows me to dance while flipping my hair a lot. If you’ve seen me out dancing or just hyper somewhere with loud music you’ve seen this sweet dance move. (I know right now there are readers nodding – acknowledging my rowdy hair flipping dance moves.)

Anyhow, back to the point. “Damaged”. So fitting for my life but I think what I really like about it is that it really is a sad topic but the bass and fast tempo keeps you optimistic. Very tricky Diddy…very tricky.

While I could write a long blog about being confused, sad, frustrated, angst ridden and the other whatnot that is so quaintly my love life I think it’s time to lighten up life a little here in blog land. Plus, what better to lighten things up then discuss the single item that might be returning me to the giddy girly happy love life radar.

Lip gloss.

I did a little retail therapy this weekend and picked up some sparkly, spring toned MAC plush glass. Magic in a bottle. I’ve never been much of a lip gloss/lipstick wearer. I think this is partially because I just don’t really think through that final step and previous dudes I’ve dated always expressed their annoyance at lip products. But let me tell you this, not only does lip gloss really polish off a complete look, it really just is fun and makes every girl feel just that extra bit girly.

Since venturing into the land of daily lip gloss wearers (Day 3 was today people) I’ve received quite a few compliments and from what I can tell a little bit of flirtational vibes. I could be wrong, and I’m always the most cautious and usually last to know when someone is expressing an interest in me but there could possibly be some interesting developments on the JDub front.
Plus, lip gloss is the perfect compliment to a fun new dance song and of course my signature moves.

7 Responses to “Damaged and Lip Gloss”

  1. 27 Dresses March 26, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    Woohoo for lip gloss! I can picture your lips now (sorry that was creepy). I would like a personal update on “Interesting developments” please.

  2. JDub March 26, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    Thanks for picturing my lips…I think. 😉

    I acquired not one but two – that’s right – multiple lip glosses on my last trip to MAC. We’ll do a gloss showcase Friday.

  3. The Sox Fan March 26, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    oh, oh oh my lips so lucious
    the way I spice it up with the mac-mac brushes
    loreal got them want watermelon crushes
    thats probably the reason all these boys got crushes

    they say my lip gloss is cool, my lip gloss be poppin
    I’m standin at my locker, and all the boys keep stoppi

  4. JDub March 27, 2008 at 8:30 am #

    Really….really?

    I’m not sure how I feel about you posting lyrics to Lil Mama songs…

  5. Blondie March 27, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    WHATCHYOU KNOW BOUT ME?
    WHATCHA WATCHA KNOW?

  6. JDub March 27, 2008 at 9:38 am #

    See it’s something I expected from Blondie…not so much The Sox Fan.

  7. The Sox Fan March 27, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    Is it our fault you can’t handle the one-two punch of our awesomeness?

Leave a Reply

