A little life update

3 Apr

It was brought to my attention that my blogging frequency has slowed a bit. Apparently there are readers that I’ve been neglecting. Here are some of the reasons for why my blogging has slowed down:

1. Work has been crazy busy and after stressful/busy days in front of a computer I max out and can’t get myself to blog at night. Simple solution you say: Blog from work – ugh, I wish I had that kind of time.

2.  I’ve turned the nerd-o-meter to full blast and have been reading much more frequently. What used to be right before calling The Sox Fan/going to bed reading it’s now become weekend wake-up lay in bed reading until mid-day or post work/pre gym reading. I also have a stack of books on my kitchen counter I’m planning to read. I don’t cook much so the kitchen is a perfectly natural place to store books in waiting. Don’t judge me.

3. I signed up for Netflix. After hearing for over a year how magical it is to some of my friends lives I decided to give it a shot. Mostly because I was ill and didn’t want to physically go to the video store, set up an account at the location closest to my home and I know I would forget to take them back or they would be out of what I wanted to see when I went in. I have to admit I do miss the instant gratification from picking a movie from the shelf and bringing it home. But what I don’t miss is going to the store, finding a movie and then dealing with the defeat when they are all out. Plus, I love getting mail. Love it.

4. I have a backlog of magazines that are not getting processed/read as quickly as they need to. I for some reason have to take a magazine to the gym when I do cardio. It’s usually US Weekly – before you judge let me note this – they are the perfect length for an hour of cardio and are mindless so I don’t have to worry about getting really engrossed into an article only to mis-step and hurt myself while falling of a machine. Anywho, between the US Weekly’s I compulsively buy at the market and the two subscriptions I have there is also a magazine stack in the kitchen.

So there, in the midst of being more scholarly and athletic my blogging has suffered. My bad.

Although now I am using my blog as a way to procrastinate on packing. Ugh – I hate packing. Back when I was traveling every month for the old company I was a pro, I could pack a bag for a week internationally in about 15 minutes. I’m a little rusty these days – the first step tonight will be unpacking my suitcase from my last trip to Vegas…oops.

That’s right friends, I’m headed back to Sin City – this time I will be there for work. I think there might be time to fit in some shenanigans  – the number one story I think will be me renting and driving a 15 passenger van on and around The Strip. Yikes – think good thoughts.

One Response to “A little life update”

  1. Stacey Derbinshire April 3, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

Leave a Reply

