The Great Pumpkin Spice Kisses

8 Oct

I make it a point to venture out to the burbs on Sundays (for as much as my schedule allows) to spend time with my parents. Maybe it’s part of being an only child or maybe it’s that while I figure I live so close to them I should take advantage of seeing them as much as I can. The reasoning is neither here nor there but visiting with them gives me the opportunity to read their Sunday paper, peruse the ads of the retailers I frequent, talk sports with my dad, usually go shopping with my mom and score dinner. Boo yah parents.

On this most recent visit to my parents house my mother was reminded of an ad she had seen for Target noting they were exclusively carrying Pumpkin Spice Hershey Kisses. Mama Dub knows I like pumpkin spice lattes and she as well is a fan of the pumpkin flavoring so she asked me if I wanted to go run some errands including looking into this kisses business.

Off we go to the newly remodeled but still gargantuan suburban Target in the burbs. Low and behold we reach the Halloween candy aisle and the one item we are looking for is gone. Thinking, it’s still early in the month and there will just be another display section of the pumpkin spice kisses I start deliberately pacing the aisles…nothing. Mama Dub suggests they are out – what?!?! So early? I think not. I take it upon myself to seek professional assistance. I ask the teenage employee closest to me and he checks his radar gun and confirms my mother’s suggestion. They are out.

Only in the suburbs would a holiday specialty item be sold out far in advance of the holiday in question. I tell my mom, don’t worry about it there is another Target very close to my workplace in a not so burb like part of the urban center of town  – Jantzen Beach. There is no way a specialty fancy item like this will be sold out at JB – more than likely this will be the location where well into November those pumpkin kisses will be sitting in large stacks on the clearance shelves.

For those of you who are unaware or have never been Jantzen Beach is trapped in a time warp of early 90’s commerce. I had not been to this gem neighborhood until I started at my current job and let me tell you – WOW – this place gives the Gateway shopping center of Springfield a run for it’s money. Only thing holding JB back – no $1.50 movie theater.

So on my lunch break this week I headed over to the JB Target and low and behold – the great pumpkin spice kisses charlie brown! (If you don’t get that reference to Peanuts cartoons you should shame your parents). I picked up a bag and left a comical message for Mama Dub. I have to tell you, she’s pretty pumped about my find. And I am slightly dissapointed in the Pumpkin Spice Kisses – I’ve only had one and it was decent but I don’t think I’ll be buying out the pending clearance stock.

One Response to “The Great Pumpkin Spice Kisses”

  1. birdlegs October 9, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    Damn! I was worried the final review was not going to be as tasty as it sounds. I might still need to try one if it comes across my path but I probably won’t be trekking to JB anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

