Britney, Britney, Britney

2 Dec

 

It’s no secret, I love me some Britney Spears. I’ve never been shy about discussing it. It is no secret that I am a fan and that Blondie and I are about 98.9% sure she would love being our friend. 

It all started back in the late 90’s with Britney bursting onto the music scene, plaid school girl outfit and all.

 

Baby One More Time

Baby One More Time

My closest girlfriends and I went out dressed up in 4 different Britney iconic music video looks and the rest as they say is history. We went to her concert, we all knew the words to her songs, we kept up to date on all her life developments and romance rumors. We even had bracelets that represented our friendship and mutual love for Ms. Spears.

When Britney started getting all hot and racy we were fans – I mean seriously, how can you not be:

 

Meow Britney.

Meow Britney.

 

Meow...Part 2.

Meow...Part 2.

When she went off the reservation with her acting out, marriage to KFed and two babies I was supportive. I may or may not have written her a few “Dear Britney” emails in my head which if you know me are the formal way of communicating my distaste in matters large and small. I’m not saying it was easy to be Team Britney at this point but I did it. Because much like my religious counterparts the world over I had faith.

Well team, today, December 2nd (Happy Birthday Britney) I feel like we are well on our way to a renewed Britney. This past Sunday the documentary inside 60 days of Britney’s life aired and Blondie (who is also my Bestie – naturally) came over and we took down a bottle of Pink champagne (in honor of Britney) and wrote down our favorite quotes…and paused the DVR a number of times for discussion and laughter at Jamie Spears.

Today was album release date and to continue my decade long tradition I ventured out to my favorite local large store retailer (The Bullseye) to purchase her album on release date. It was pointed out that I could use iTunes but it’s just not the same as the physical CD and why buck tradition. Although finally getting this album was a big deal the BIGGER deal was that Blondie and I heard about tour dates last night and today they went on pre-sale and we have 12th row seats!!! There was a lot of frantic phone calls and quick internet ticket purchasing – it was like Hurricane Britney and of course there were quite a few frantic all caps emails but I’m STOKED!

In closing I will leave with 3 of my favorites:

#1. Favorite song on the new album: Circus.

#2. Favorite quote from Britney Spears on the MTV Documentary: “I go through life like a karate kid.”

#3. Favorite picture I came across doing Google research for this blog:

 

Learn about it.

Learn about it.

5 Responses to “Britney, Britney, Britney”

  1. The Sox Fan December 2, 2008 at 11:04 pm #

    You’re like a Cubs fan. No one says they’re a fan till they’re doing good.

    Britney Spears = TBIC.

    I cannot get past the Crazy even though her pictures are returning to the days counting down to her 18th birthday.

  2. JDub December 2, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    1. I blogged about Britney and my support of her in tough times on my former blog site and you know that.

    2. I resent the fact that you think I am a fair weather person. I can supply you with a list of people who will validate my support of Britney in her crazy shaving her head, pink wig wearing, car crash driving phase.

    3. I think you were the one mentioning just today that just because she’s back that doesn’t mean she’s “doing good.”

    4. You can look through any of the Savvy 6 and see where her music is mentioned that I note what a huge fan I am.

  3. Blondie December 3, 2008 at 6:11 pm #

    CD Analysis:

    1. Womanizer… after seeing Jamie Spears version I’m torn as to which one I like better… but either way I just can’t get the hook out of my head. A-

    2. Circus… Loves it! Currently my favorite on the CD. Get it girl. It’s the perfect song to drop second and the video is total hotness. A+

    3. Out from Under… Of all of the slower songs I think this is the best… speed it up a little or add a stronger beat to it and it could be her slow song for the radio. Her voice sounds pretty good and the lyrics are not as sugary as her slower songs tend to be. A-

    4. Kill the Lights… Love the intro – so sassy! Well let’s be real, the whole song is pretty sassy. I don’t really need the whole ‘anti-papparazzi’ thing, but I’ll still rock out. B+

    5. Shattered Glass… Take that KFed and your Vegas lovin days! I like that it’s empowered and fun. The beat changes are also HOT. A

    6. If U Seek Amy… I don’t get it. I must have a PG mind because apparently if you say the title of the song fast it sounds dirty… I don’t get it. Update: I googled it. Apparently it’s supposed to sound like ‘F-U-C-K me’. Get it girl!!! I still don’t really get it. C

    7. Unusual You… Sounds so good! I don’t know why but between the melody and beats I just love it! And the lyrics are beautiful. A+

    8. Blur… Unnecessary. Disturbing. F

    9. Mmm Papi… Could be way fun – the retro beats are cool. Um ‘let’s makeout, let’s makeout’… fantastic! But the ‘mmm papi’ grosses me out. I’ll need at least 3 cocktails to really let loose to this song. C+

    10. Mannequin… A little blasé the first round, but it’s growing on me with each listen. I say in two days I’ll really like it. B-

    11. Lace and Leather… The early 90’s called – they want their sitcom music back. Other than that (which by the end of the song really bothers me) the song is super sassy and cute. B-

    12. My Baby… Oh Britney. Why do you always feel the need to include one awkward song that I always have to skip? You’re hot Britney Spears!!! I don’t want to think about Mama Spears while rocking out to the circus album! F

    13. Radar… Squeeze me? I know you typically do at least one cover on your CD’s… but this is literally off of your last album. I still can’t even fathom why I heard this song come on while on my drive to work today. While I like the song, where’s the effort??? D

    14. Rock Me In… It’s alright though a little sugary sounding for my liking. But it’s actually a really slooty song. So tricky Brit Brit. C

    15. Phonography… Unnecessary. Gross. Ew. Why? F

  4. JDub December 4, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    Not that this should come as a shock to anyone but I agree with all your song reviews.

    Love me some Unusual You – it’s my fav behind Circus…and then Womanizer. Naturally.

    Although the laughed because “let’s makeout, let’s makeout” was the ONLY great part of “Mmm Papi” – which even when I say that song name it makes me cringe a little.

    Shocker…we are on the same page about something else in life…so weird. NOT.

    …yeah, I brought back NOT. Learn about it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 | A Year in Blogging Review « If Julie Fell - February 1, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was October 30th with 228 views. The most popular post that day was Britney, Britney, Britney. […]

Leave a Reply

