Newly Acquired Favorites

3 Dec

Tonight I attended a traditional holiday event at my favorite store and former employer back in the day (The Nordstrom). Every holiday season each store closes their doors early to the public and brings in the wine, champagne, beer and apps for a private customer appreciation/holiday shopping cocktail party. Mrs. Dub and I always attend and really how can you not want to be at this thing – apps/drinks/shopping – it’s the trifecta. Genius.

One of the things I don’t miss about working retail is the piped in holiday music blaring at you – and it’s a limited selection so I do have memorized the lyrics to a number (read: all) of their holiday hits. Things I do miss for the record are the sweet discount and vendor gifts.

Anywho, one of the songs now stuck in my head is “These Are a Few of My Favorite Things” – but since it’s still early December I am not going to make this Christmas related and just go for general things I have come across this week in no particular order:

  • Dresses – I love me some dresses – whether they be casual or dressy I just love how easy they make outfit selection for work, going out, parties, dates, etc.
  • TIGI Rockaholic – new product from my personal exclusive line of hair care products that basically absorbs oils so you can go another day without washing your hair for all those mornings when you are running late. Totally used it today and it was amazing. Plus, it adds volume and smells fab. Rock on.
  • Finding jeans for short people that are not too short or look like some one took a regular length jean and cropped it mid-calf. Ah-thank you lovely sales girl at Nordstrom.
  • New Adventures. Whether trying a new restaurant on a whim or attempting a new distance running I am enjoying branching out.
  • Clean and freshly washed pillows. They smell magical and are just as fluffy as the day I bought them a couple years ago.
  • Picking up long awaited items at the library. It can be daunting when you get on the holds list and there are close to 200 people in front of you. But the day you see that item waiting for pickup at your local branch it just has to make you smile.

If there’s anything that you have come across recently to make your favorites list feel free to share!

5 Responses to “Newly Acquired Favorites”

  1. Blondie December 4, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    OMG I too love Rockaholic! And I bought Melissa that for her bday… hopefully she doesn’t read your blog! 🙂

  2. Bird Legs December 4, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    I have never heard of this Rockaholic but you can bet I’ll be running out to the store today to get it! We all no much I love washing my hair. Plus what a fantastically catchy name.

  3. Bird Legs December 4, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    know that is…typing too fast

  4. JDub December 4, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    Rockaholic is seriously amazing. I could never go a day without washing my hair because my roots get so gross but this stood the test of time. Hell, when I got up today even it looked like I didn’t need to wash it!

    But I did. I can’t break the cycle!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Newly Acquired Favorites | Take Two « If Julie Fell - December 11, 2008

    […] 11, 2008 by JDub You may remember when I blogged about some of my newly acquired favorites earlier this month, well I have an update to one of the items and have come across a few new items […]

Leave a Reply

