It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas!

7 Dec

That’s right friends this was the weekend that finally solidified it for me – the holiday season is upon us. The weather has turned and stayed quite crisp and cold. The fog and rain has moved on in. It is officially December and I can kiss sunshine and coat-less temps good bye. 

Besides the weather changes I can now look at my calendar and see my weekends/nights full of parties, dinners, gift exchanges and shenanigans. But mostly I know it’s the holiday season because I received my first Christmas card this weekend and my first plate of homemade holiday treats – thanks Blondie. 

I’m not one of those people who bust full force into the holiday decorations the day after Thanksgiving, nor am I one to blast the all Christmas music 24/7 station (I have been known to play some select holiday music so I’m not a grinch). If anything the holidays make me happy because I get to see so many of my friends at various gatherings and being busy is always a good thing.

Although now the anxiety to get all my holiday shopping done is starting to set in. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some shopping, but shopping and deadlines should never be mixed.

Anyone have great gift ideas for parents? I feel like mine have everything they need already…help!

2 Responses to “It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas!”

  1. Blondie December 7, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    So happy you came over today! Yes, I feel like this weekend launched me into Christmas mode… between the day time shenanigans and Nordy’s event – I’m ready. In fact, I think tomorrow I’m going to solidify it with a seasonal beverage from SBX.

    Okay… parents… parents…

    Mom – Cardigan set
    Dad – Something camo or that can kill an animal?

    Okay but really 🙂 Does your dad fish? New flies in case he fly fishes are always good. My dad knows a guy that makes really nice ones. Your mom… no clue! She’s like my mom – has everything!

  2. Mego December 8, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    My dad always wants tools. And I usually get my mom jewelry or purses/bags. Have you checked out gifts.com, though? It’s pretty awesome.

    Also, I’m going to the Holiday Artisan Market at Pio Square to see if I can get my folks something locally-made. I know, I’m such a hippie.

    http://portland-oregon-magazine.com/news/195/ARTICLE/3025/2008-11-21.html

Leave a Reply

