Week 1: In the bag.

4 Dec

Well week 1 at my new job is almost in the bag. I will be coming in tomorrow AM to be here when programmers are pushing edits and reviews through and the quiet time will help get me organized for actually planning for a week versus one day at a time.

The non-boring work highlights:

  • I am drinking coffee again. I blame technology. When I used to work in high tech I drank coffee daily. Mostly just in the AM to get rolling but I became convinced I was getting an ulcer so I quit. I dealt with the withdrawl and then moved jobs where I went a little over 2 years without caffeine, well with the exception of event weeks on site where I was always clutching a Red Bull just to function. But here I am, drinking coffee and back in tech.
  • I get some awesome people watching in on the train. For example, last night riding home there was a fairly attractive dude. He reached into his messenger bag to get a book. Oh, he’s a reader: Bonus points. Too bad the book was Twilight. A book for TEENS people. Ugh, game over.
  • I am now seeking cubical decorations. I like being back in a space that even though it’s walled off allows me some personal space and not being so exposed to the world. Plus, I have all these surfaces I can tack decorations onto. Have any suggestions of what I should be decorating with?
  • In my paycheck stub there was a coupon for free lunch. Even though I work in a place that already caters my breakfast, lunch and dinner with various food options all freely available this was an additional offer of free food. I might actually do some money saving on my paychecks…or I’ll just blow it all on awesome shoes. Too early to tell.

Week 1 done. Bring it on Week 2.

2 Responses to “Week 1: In the bag.”

  1. Blondie December 9, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    I would actually saw Twilight is for Tweens. And my dad.

  2. Tom December 12, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    Coffee doesn’t judge – welcome back to the dark side JW.

Leave a Reply

