John Mayer does it again.

11 Dec

My freshman year of college I discovered a new artist. His name was John Mayer and he was duetting with Glen Phillips on some tracks I found on the internets. I recommended John Mayer to a certain boy who I had a complicated relationship/penguin situation with. Before I go any further I should clarify that I am a person who does NOT like to talk about my feelings. If anything I am an avoider. I avoid talking about warm and fuzzy things until I am forced to by another person or I can exit the situation completely. What can I say, I’m harsh like that.

So, back to John Mayer. My freshman year as I was falling in love with John Mayer and having some complicated flirtatious situation with a boy in another state who also loved music when I received what would later turn out to be my first of many John Mayer lyric dedications. It was to a song called “Your Body is a Wonderland” – a classic romantic tale. The lesson I would later learn is that when you have a relationship with two avoiders (people who avoid talking about ANYTHING feeling related) nothing ever really gets sorted out, well it does – just way until  it’s beyond repair or too late to make a difference, and all attempts at emotionally based conversations in this instance between two avoiders turned out to just be a battle of song lyrics.

A couple years later when I had a serious boyfriend who was classically uncomplicated I received a mix CD with a floppy disc of word documents detailing all the reasons and specific lyric lines of the music on the CD from the complicated penguin situation boy. The song was “Love Soon” and there were so many perfectly fitting lines from the lyrics that the word doc section on that song was practically the full song.

John Mayer continued to play a featured guest roll in my complicated penguin situation in person since I’ve seen John Mayer both as the date of the penguin situation boy and also separately with other people but we have run into each other at those concerts as well – which might seem odd but it isn’t in this case.

In the past few years there have always times where I catch myself feeling like certain musical artists have the ability to see perfectly into my life and then when I hear their songs I have one of two reactions: 1. This is creepy, John Mayer is in my head and 2. My crazy life can’t be that crazy if John Mayer is also facing down (or a song writer) the same wacky issues.

Within 5 minutes of putting in John Mayer’s latest album”Battle Studies” I knew he did it again. I recommend it obviously if you are a John Mayer fan but also if you just need a gut check on relationships.

The following are my favorite and oddly enough most pertinent lyrics, but I’m not revealing who they pertain to – a girl has to have some secrets:

Heartbreak Warfare – as a song I have a feeling this will be coming my way…just call it a hunch

All We Ever Do Is Say Goodbye:

Just when I had you off my head
Your voice comes thrashing wildly through my quiet bed
You say you wanna try again
But I’ve tried everything but giving in

Why you wanna break my heart again
Why am I gonna let you try

Half of My Heart:

Oh half of my heart’s got a grip on the situation
Half of my heart takes time
Half of my heart’s got a right mind to tell you
That I can’t keep loving you
Oh, with half of my heart

Half of my heart is a shotgun wedding to a bride with a paper ring
And half of my heart is the part of a man who’s never really loved anything

Last but not least: Friends, Lovers, or Nothing – which basically is my entire romantic life in a song. Seriously.

Thanks John Mayer for once again being in sync with my love life. Creepy.

Leave a Reply

