Grapefruit is the worst cough drop flavor.

17 Dec

I’ll admit it. I am a huge baby when it comes to being sick. You would think surviving Stage 4 Hodgkin’s Lymphoma would make me tough as nails but you would be wrong my friend. So wrong. I don’t like being sick, I despise taking drugs and even after 20+ years of my mother’s advice to gargle salt water to help heal a sore throat there still is NO freaking way that’s going to happen.

When I get sick I seem to turn into a whining grumpy child. I don’t want to take anything, I don’t want to go to work, all I really want to do is sloth around in sweats. Which wouldn’t be so different from what I want to do on lazy weekends but since I feel like crap I’m not really a peach to be around, or to talk to.

The Sox Fan has a no tolerance policy for my sick kid shenanigans. The minute I complain about feeling sick he informs me to take liquid cold medicine. I would rather drink room temperature Goldschlager straight than think about sucking down a few ounces of liquid cold medicine. In fact I hate liquid cold medicine so much that when I was sick I had a boyfriend who would bribe me with presents to get me to take it. Let’s just say The Sox Fan is offering condecending eye rolls and not presents with his advice.

Over the years I have gotten desperate and resorted to using various types of drugs to try to heal my colds. I started with emergenC – I found this to be marginal and ultimately I felt like it just made me feel carbonated. I resorted to NyQuil to get me some quality night’s sleep here and there and I felt like based on my small use of drugs in the past it really was magical and addicting to be knocked out that hard. When push came to shove I caved and took citrus vitamin C cough drops.

This latest round of illness could not of come at a worse time. I just started a new job – week 3.5 as of today – and it’s pretty hard to be the newbie and to be out sick. It’s the holidays which means weekends backed with fun events, time with friends, nights of crafting on cards and gifts and everyone’s favorite SHOPPING. So really, I can’t be sick right now.

The minute I felt it coming on I retreated to bed. Note to self: sleeping it off may work on hangovers but not so much on illness. I took one day off work and since then I have been chugging orange juice, taking NyQuil religiously and living with cough drops in my reach at all times. The Halls Defense Vitamin C citrus pack are the only ones I know of that don’t taste like a medical cleaning solution in my mouth. However, it’s a random lottery with each one because the flavors are lemon (meh), orange (the best) and grapefruit (barf).

Do I think it’s sad that I have a ranking of cough drop flavors? No. Am I desperate enough to feel better that I suffered through an agonizing few minutes of grapefruit cough drop consumption today? Yes.

7 Responses to “Grapefruit is the worst cough drop flavor.”

  1. Bird Legs December 17, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Okay few things: Number 1, gargling salt water = magic when you have a sore throat so suck it up princess:)

    Number 2, I just dry heaved at my desk because you typed out the words “room temperature Goldschlager (aka drink of death) straight” so thank you for that!

    Hope you’re feeling better.

  2. Mego December 17, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    I, also, am very particular when it comes to certain medications, so I will offer some advice (and yes, just the thought of gargling salt water is vomit-inducing)/

    1. Always get NyQuil and DayQuil in the LiquiCaps form. No gross syrups involved. But they’re kind of big so you have to take one at a time.

    2. Halls Breezers are the way to go. In my experience, the flavors sound gross but taste great. They don’t taste like menthol, either. Gag.

    3. If you’re like me and need to drink fluids but don’t particularly enjoy water, Apple Cider packets are a great alternative. All the benefits of water, no caffeine, and a great taste! Plus, they’re very season-appropriate.

    4. Jamba Juice is the best meal there is. It takes almost no effort to eat and soothes the throat.

    Feel better soon, m’lady! Call me if you need anything…

  3. JDub December 17, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    I’ve been taking NyQuil in the liquicaps – that is as close as I get to ingesting liquid medicine. But even then those things better knock you out they are like horse pills.

    Hall Breezers are those white and colored swirl cough drops – they look like knock off lifesavers and I say no. No technicolor drugs. I have to draw the line somewhere.

    Thanks for the well wishes friends – I hope to be re-joining the world of social, pizza eating, keg finishing friends soon!

  4. The Sox Fan December 18, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    It’s weird, you’ve tried all sorts of other things but they don’t seem to be working.

    One would assume that by trying the one thing you haven’t tried, it could possibly work better than things that are currently not working.

    Ps. I second Bird Legs idea, suck it up princess.

  5. Betty January 20, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

    I love the grapefruit flavor. The absolute best to me.

  6. Ed July 31, 2015 at 1:22 am #

    That is your opinion.
    In my opinion I think grapefruit is the best halls flavor ever. Sendi me grapefruits and I will send you oranges 😉 lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 | A Year in Blogging Review « If Julie Fell - February 1, 2011

    […] Grapefruit is the worst cough drop flavor. December 2009 4 comments […]

Leave a Reply

