Savvy 6, Part 6

12 Mar

Remember (or not if you are new to this fine blog) when I used to let you all in on the sweet inner workings of my iPod? I would put my iPod on shuffle and write little memories, flashbacks, fun facts associated with the first 6 songs that came on? It was a fun game and since I am in need of a little mental health break today in between hand holding people to do their jobs and writing policies for basic work functions. PLUS, I recently received a new playlist via iTunes of songs that “belong” to a certain boy I know. Sometimes it’s great to hear a song that is “owned” by a family member, a friend, an ex, whatever that so vividly takes you back to a certain memory or a shared experience and other times it sucks. But being a music snob and nerd the playlist did tug a little at my heart strings.

Shuffle on friends:

Saints and Sailors; Dashboard Confessional
Well first this will always, as any Dashboard songs will, remind me of college. Partially of my bestie, Blondie, and all our various boy issues and love of music that we felt really explained our super complicated love lifes (even though we would later learn that college romance had nothing on post college relationships).

Crawl; Kings of Leon
This album was one of my most frequently played in 2009 and I continue to love it well into 2010. There’s something dark and kind of sexy about this song. I know that sounds a little creepy but it’s the best way I can describe it. I love when this comes on when I am running because it makes me pick up my slower pace and kick it into the next gear. My KoL crush continues…

These Days; Rascal Flatts
That’s right, I own some albums of country music. This was the album I bought on my first trip to Medford during sophomore or junior year of college with the now Mrs. 27 Dresses. So over all this album reminds me of her, but this song specifically was one of the most fitting selections for a mix CD I made DJ Anonymous  called “Happy in my Ness”. The first lines were perfectly fitting for the complicated situation that was our “relationship” and to this day will always make me inadvertently smile.  A true college flashback for sure.

Rock with You; Michael Jackson
This song makes everyone want to dance. Even those who don’t like to dance or have no ability to hold a beat can’t help but at least sway to this. It is hands down one of my favorites, and quite possibly my favorite of all time of the MJ hits. Michael Jackson reminds me of my mom, from where I actually scored this album, and going out on the town with my best girlfriends. This should definitely be on any getting ready mix tape.

Gotta Have You; The Weepies
This is probably my favorite song by The Weepies. It just sounds like who I am at the core of it. Plus, it references coffee, crying, whiskey and wine which I love 3/4 of. I’ve been known to cry a time of two as well. It does take me back to the end of my relationship with The Sox Fan which really I guess was more of a transition back to a friendship than an ending but at the time it was what I thought to be a perfect fit.

Crown of Thorns (Mother Love Bone cover); Pearl Jam Live @ The Gorge Sept. 1, 2005
Unless you are one of the most frequent people I call this song will be your ringtone on my phone. Before Pearl Jam found Eddie Vedder a few of the band members were in Mother Love Bone, their lead singer actually died and well the rest is music history. This was never Eddie’s song but I couldn’t imagine it without his amazing voice. I was at this show and the live version is the only way to hear this song. One of my top 5 songs of all time.

4 Responses to “Savvy 6, Part 6”

  1. J.Lee March 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I LOVE every single one of those songs expect the country one (I know I’m alone in asking what is Rascal Flats? I will google it/them/her/him) Crown of Thorns and Crawl are in my top 25 for sure! Anyway, love your blog always!

  2. JDub March 15, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    This was one of the better Savvy 6’s. I’m thinking I need to do this more often since I have now topped the 2600+ song mark on my iPhone…and we won’t talk about the large amount of music that didn’t make the cut and remains exiled to iTunes only.

  3. Mrs. 27 Dresses March 24, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I so appreciate your love for Rascal. 🙂 Makes me happy.

  4. 12minds March 29, 2010 at 4:22 am #

    Great songs. The Weepies are a personal favorite of mine and very much take me to a relationship long gone, but still, a lovely song.

    And it’s always tough to go wrong with Pearl Jam.

Leave a Reply

