I’m the worst runner ever.

10 Jun

That might seem like a dramatic statement but trust me I don’t think it is. I think it’s just straight up fact.

I have a 1/2 marathon in San Francisco in October and I have done very little training. When I say very little I mean practically nothing. It doesn’t help that the rainy weather during “Spring” has been completely depressing and the opposite of fun to head out in. It probably doesn’t help that I have been feeling so completely overwhelmed and frustrated with my work situation so the last thing on my mind at night is to come home and run. It also doesn’t add anything to my motivation that morning workouts are the antithesis of what I want to be doing when it’s so warm in my bed and I love me some sleep.

So here we are, almost mid-June and just like a finish line at a race that actual race day in October is a stationary object and all I can do is move towards it.

I need some accountability from you internet readers. Please on a regular basis ask me how far I ran recently. Ask me how many miles I’ve run in the last week. Don’t ask me questions like, how is training going? You know why…because I can say, it’s going poorly and then that can be the end of the subject. If I am forced to tell you details like mileage I’ll feel guilty and then I will train in prep for the next time you ask me about my race day progress.

Thanks for the support. I’m going to need it.

Have I mentioned running is lame? πŸ™‚

7 Responses to “I’m the worst runner ever.”

  1. nathanjwuk June 10, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Hello fellow half-marathoner! I’m doing one for the 2nd time in September; I won’t come online and tell you how much my legs hurt the day after I promise πŸ™‚

    So how far have you been running in prep for the big event? Have you got a running partner? It might help with motivation; it might not if they’re super fit.

    Odd though it may seem, running in the rain (so long as it isn’t a storm!) is quite refreshing.

    And if running is lame, you might have a stone in your shoe!

    • JDub June 16, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      I figured my legs were going to take a beating post race and I would need some assistance in getting around. πŸ™‚

      So far I’ve been easing into training and logging 3-4 miles per run.

      I’ve been running solo so far but will be hitting up some of my fellow racers for some of the longer training runs. Helping to plot out my run days the week prior has helped a bit but of course I welcome any tips you have!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 10, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Oh no worries- you’ve got plenty of time! I’ve got my first one August 1st and I’m only in week 4 of training!

    I’m one of those weird crazies who likes to run, but if I were you, I’d get a running partner. It motivates you a little more if you’re having a hard time getting out there by yourself… I’ve never joined a running group before, but I do know they have them- for any pace/distance you can imagine.

    Don’t worry, once you get into training a little bit, you’ll be breezing through them like it’s nobody’s business!

    • JDub June 16, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks for the vote of confidence; it helps to hear people have trained for races in smaller time frames.

      I figure with the first half my expectations are pretty limited to finishing and not ending up in the medical tent (which were my expectations for my first triathlon as well and that worked out well) so with those goals in mind I can’t be that far off!

      Just in getting into a routine I’m seeing a bit of endurance improvement!

  3. J.Lee June 10, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    If it makes you feel any better (and in NO WAY am I bragging about the weather down here), it is not any more motivating to run in 112 degrees either. I woke up at 6am the other day to run, it was already 89 degrees. I ran maybe a mile and sweat no less than 8 gallons of water out. It’s depressing. When you find the secret to motivating yourself to you run, please let me know. Running you are my bitch lover.

    PS I miss you

    • JDub June 16, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      I miss you too! Running in hot heat is not something I like at all.

      So while I was envious of your beautiful weather earlier this spring you can keep your hot heat this summer while I attempt to train myself into a runner.

      But perhaps this winter I’ll need to find a Phoenix race so I can come visit!

  4. Blondie June 10, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    I’m with you. Running sucks πŸ™‚

    How about daily-blog accountability?! What, is June 9th chopped liver?!

Leave a Reply

