College Reunions

1 Nov

First let me say that after 2 trips to IKEA, one trip to Target, getting lost in a sketchy part of the East Bay, a few hours dominating the craftsmanship and assembly of Swedish home furnishings and a lot of breaking down cardboard boxes I am feeling like serious progress has been made on settling into my new apartment and into SF in general.

That’s the boring stuff that I know you all care about but let’s get real, fun blog posts are not made about my intense and well thought out organizational plan for my new 8 drawer monster dresser or my closet which utilizes all sizes and types of plastic storage containers and drawers.

Saturday was the Ducks game. Not the Ducks vs. USC mind you. The Ducks game. Blondie and I set out for the Duck alumni bar in SF and met up with a rowdy college fraternity friend. Turns out the bouncer of said bar is a USC fan. Also, turns out that after a few tall boys of Bud Light I become aggressive and just start verbally abusing that man’s team to his face. In the bar. I don’t care. FACT.

On the opposite screen at the bar was the Giants game. Literally at one point the Ducks scored a touchdown and then seconds later one of the Giants hit a solo home run. It was a fantastic elated sports atmosphere and I wouldn’t of wanted to be anywhere else.

Even though it pains me that my Red Sox are not playing in the World Series it is an electric atmosphere here with the Giants as of this post being one game away from being World Series Champions. Had you told me in April that this year’s World Series would be the Texas Rangers vs. San Francisco Giants I would of laughed in your face. Just bold faced laughter. But this is happening and while I am a firm believer that wearing black & orange means you are an OSU Beaver I will support passively this city being the home of World Series Champions. Hell, I think going to the parade alone would be bananas and I want in on that.

Post Duck game win Blondie and I did a drive by to the Castro for 1. spying on the epic Halloween costumes (SF goes bananas for Halloween) and 2. for AMAZING salted carmel ice cream from Bi-Rite Creamery. Seriously, there is a reason this is on the 2010 Big Eat SF 100 places to eat. So delicious.

Sunday was spent unpacking like it was my job and then going over to Le Jamera’s apartment for soup and panini night with her, my Big Sis and Blondie. These are some of my favorite girlfriends hands down and having them all together, in one room and further more in one city is one of the most comforting things about this move. From the in same room texting sessions, to the cyber stalking to the pure hilarious story telling it was just what a Sunday night should be.

My first day on the job will be tomorrow’s post because the Giants just hit a 3-run homer and people are going crazypants outside my apartment right now.

6 Responses to “College Reunions”

  1. J.Lee November 2, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Loving the new blog look! Excited for your new adventure! Craving Bi-Rite Creamery!

    • JDub November 2, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      Next time you are in the Bay we are going for sure. We also bought a pint of Malted Vanilla and I am planning a return trip for Balsamic Strawberry.

  2. Thallon November 2, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    I knew it! I knew you would come on board with the Giants! I am not saying over the Red Sox (for you) but you’ve got to admit they are such a fun team to cheer for! Welcome to Giants fandom, home of kayaking crazies, rally fog and the only good reason to wear orange and black!

    • JDub November 2, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      Just seeing what Brian Wilson does next is enough for me. But I’m still not making a portion of my wardrobe be Halloween colors. 😉 The parade tomorrow should make this rioting city a whole ton of fun.

  3. The Sox Fan November 2, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Alright, I’ve tolerated this long enough….

    I can only take so much, the Giants this, the Giants that. May I remind you of the many hours, days, weeks and months spent with a very special team with way more awesome players.

    It seems like you’ve already forgotten about our Captain. Or the Silver Fox. Or the only Beaver you’ll root for, a Mr. Ellsbury. Or even a gentleman that bedazzles the SHIT out of everything he wears? Oh, and did anyone on the stupid Giants beat cancer, come back throw a no hitter, AND win a world series? NO. No they didn’t. (and also have a smokin hot wife?)

    It seems like any dude who rocks a beard and colors it with Just For Men coloring before the game gets you all riled up. And thats fine. Ditch the “idiots” for some flash in the pan wannabes.

    It’s cool. I’m sure the Sox will forgive you.

    As for me…. jury’s out.

    • JDub November 2, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

      Whoa whoa whoa. Pump the brakes Sir.

      The Giants in no way shape or form have moved into my roster of teams. The only reason they even get mentioned is because this city has gone bananas for them and my new life here includes not being able to escape that.

      But let me set one thing straight, I will not be jumping on the Giants bandwagon. Brian Wilson is clearly a nut job – it’s like driving by a car accident. You don’t want to look but suddenly you can’t take your eyes off it.

      No pot smoking hippie haired pitcher is going to replace my Cancer buddy Lester. No Panda nicknamed huggable man will ever replace my sincere and urgent need to snuggle up with Big Papi and listen to his adorable English mangled accent. And certainly no southern dude named Buster will take the place of the hottest man in baseball, The Captain.

      There will be no orange and black weaseling it’s way into my overpacked closet – this is a red and blue Boston baseball fan zone area.

      I hope that puts any concerns you had at ease. And just for posting this comment eluding to my leaving the Red Sox Nation I am going to sneak all sorts of strange seafood into your meals in two weeks.

Leave a Reply

