Home Sweet Apartment.

6 Nov

Slowly but surely I am settling into my new place. The kitchen is fully set up including grocery shopping at both a supermarket and Trader Joe’s. Which is of course a nice change from feeling forced into take-out and leftovers 24/7.

As of today all of my clothes and shoes (with the exception of coats) have a home. That being said, the first step is always find a spot for things but in true nerd fashion the second stop is final re-folding and putting things into their exact homes. Of which all shoes, dresser items and bin storage is done. All that remains for tomorrow is sorting my hanging clothes by style and then color.

Yes, you read that right. Do my underwear need to be sorted and folded by style? No. Do I need to separate tights with patterns from solids? No. Do I do all of these things? Yes.

What can I say, I just like things a certain way. I like knowing where exactly something is and I like the order of it all. It’s calming.

I hung this cool antique style posterboard/metal circle thingy up today of which I include concert and sports tickets, photos, cool postcards, just random stuff that makes me happy. So there is officially something on these bare walls.

Remaining items (besides a storage option for coats) includes sorting my makeup and putting that into it’s new home, decorating the top of my dresser, hanging more items on the walls, the aforementioned sorting of clothes by style and then color and some serious laundry.

By this time next weekend things will be in less chaos/cardboard and I’ll feel like I’m settled in and ready to not have to think about packing/unpacking for a year. Thank goodness.

3 Responses to “Home Sweet Apartment.”

  1. Mary November 14, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    Whoa.
    OCDanonymous.com

    I had no idea…

    • JDub November 16, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

      Oh yes, but the good news is that I have friends who are even more intense than I am when it comes to sorting/color coding/etc so I can be assured I am not the most extreme one out there.

      • rach December 18, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

        can i call you tam?!

Leave a Reply

