Apparently I’m a Tea Drinker…

18 Nov

I’ve never been a fan of drinking tea. It just never appealed to me. But since I felt a new cold coming on and it was my third week at my new job where I was officially in charge of projects that were transitioned to there was no way I could start taking sick days.

So upon the pseudo medical advice of a friend of mine who prides himself on having once been a “health minor” in college I started drinking tea, water and really any fluids I could get my hands on to flush the germy cold out of my system.

I reviewed the tea selections in the kitchen of my floor at work and they were all the usual suspects, earl gray (boring), chamomile (sleepy), peppermint (gross), green (too Asian) and then like a ray of sunshine there was I Love Lemon.

This tea was magical, extra Vitamin C – just what every broken down immune system needs – light, refreshing and not too stuffy like a musty afghan from your Grandma’s attic – which really, is the general viewpoint I have for tea. Maybe that’s just a bad stigma I have given it but much like Ricola cough drops and garggling salt water there are a few “cold remedy recommendations” I have my hesitations about taking.

It’s Day 4 of JDub vs. cold and thanks in part to I Love Lemon, and taking decongestant before bed and also going to bed pre-10pm each night I think I am on the mend. Who knows, perhaps I’ll just continue drinking tea…I am getting older…

4 Responses to “Apparently I’m a Tea Drinker…”

  1. The Sox Fan November 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    sooo…. you might, just maybe say I was right?

    oh, and I WAS a health minor… but if you were a cute freshman girl, I was Pre-Med. BIIIIIIIG difference.

  2. JDub November 18, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    I wasn’t even going to out you and your cheesy pick-up lines but then you go ahead and do it for yourself.

    I’m still sick. I’m still congested. When the cold goes away then maybe I’ll give you partial credit.

  3. Tuna December 7, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Skip the tea next time and go for the Hot Toddie.. Hot water, lemon, honey,,,, and bourbon. You’ll be feeling right in no time.

    • JDub December 8, 2010 at 8:31 am #

      Oh Big Tuna – hot toddies are what the Duck girls & I down here in SF drank as our celebratory Civil War win/we’re going to AZ for the National Championship game beverage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

