You know you are a nerd when…

12 Jan

I’ve always been pretty open about the fact that I am a nerd. I’ve certainly never hid the fact that I like technology, I love to read, I push my social nerd websites focused around books on people (goodreads.com) and I more than anything like being alone, wearing sweatpants, reading books and dorking out.

Which might explain why I’m still single (I’m a great catch – I promise) but that is neither here nor there.

You know you are a nerd when you get pumped about a Groupon for a book store, buy the limit of groupons they allow for one person, have 3 – yes 3 – gift cards to another book store and yes, have multiple coupons to yet a third book store in your email account flagged as high priority so you don’t forget they are there and use them before you expire.

Yep, that’s my life. Just one episode of sexy adventures after another stocking up on hardbacks, trade papers, paperbacks, used copies, new copies but never, never books on tape or ebooks on a kindle/nook/iPad. I’m a traditionalist and somethings will always be sacred. Like dog earring pages or flipping through the pages to set your “just one more chapter before bed” or “15 pages to being halfway done” short term goals.

So yes, I am a nerd. But I’m a proud nerd. Want to dork out about books? Hit up the comment section.

5 Responses to “You know you are a nerd when…”

  1. rach January 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    i like it! give the kindle a shot…i thought i would hate it and am now hooked.

  2. The Sox Fan January 13, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Hunger. Games.

    it’s all the rage.

    • JDub January 13, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Don’t push your science fiction kid books on me. You know I’ll never understand it and then you’ll be stuck with answering my endless stream of questions.

      • The Sox Fan January 18, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

        All questions are answered in the second installment. And of course new questoins there are answered in the third installment.

  3. JDub January 18, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Maybe for you because you can bend your mind to accept the illogical. I mean I’m the kind of person who wants to know if there was ever a Mrs. Yoda and if he ever found love in his life!

Leave a Reply

