Running and Books – A Nerd’s Life

1 Aug

Yep, that pretty much sums up what I’m into these days.

I’m training for my second 1/2 marathon this October – 10/16/11 in SF in case you are interested in spectating – and while I am well behind where I should be I have actually been consistent since I started back up with running. Ultimately I think my experience will be better than it was last year but I’m really looking to get in a PR in May at the Rock ‘n Roll 1/2 in PDX. But enough about running…let’s get into the nerdier things in life.

Books. I set the goal to read 30 books this year. Factoring in that I am living in a new city, at a new job and well just in general life seems to be busier than ever I realized 30 books was a decent goal. In the past couple years I tried 24 books a year (completed) and 36 books a year (derailed) so 30 feels like a middle ground that should be achievable. Also factoring in I live literally 1.5 blocks from a library I felt it was great and I’d be right on track.

Oh wait, it’s 8/1 and I’ve only read 12 books! GAH! Thanks to the goal I set on Good Reads I’m 5 books behind pace or 18% behind my goal. F. Know any good books I need to read to get my to-read list fuller and maybe re-inspire my reading needs? I mean, let’s be honest, I’m way too competitive to let this slide but new book recos are always welcome!

3 Responses to “Running and Books – A Nerd’s Life”

  1. jrlee1284 August 2, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    – Hunger Games
    – I Am Not Sydeny Poitier

    I just read both of them last month. Not only are they quick reads, but they are very enjoyable! Good luck!

    I heart my library card!

    • JDub August 2, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      The library is a magical place!

      Hunger Games keeps getting recommended but I’m not sure I can get into it.

      • The Sox Fan August 5, 2011 at 6:57 am #

        Weird…. The Hunger Games showed up from another really intelligent and rational friend… WEIRD. Book must be good

Leave a Reply

